BOOT: Small Robot, Big Adventure (Boot #1)

Author(s): Shane Hegarty

Junior Fiction

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.


When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans.


Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret. With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .


Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Lucy's Review:


When Boot boots up DANGER is flashing across his vision and he finds himself tumbling towards the teeth of a trash compactor. Although he has only two-and-a-half glitchy memories, the memory of his owner Beth is so compelling, he knows he has to get back to her. And so begins this little robot's huge adventure across the city in search of love, friendship, family and, ultimately, himself.

A delightful story that really does seem like a mashup of WALL-E and Toy Story (in the best possible way) from the author of the Darkmouth series. BOOT pokes fun at humanity's technological addictions in ways that will be very familiar to young readers while also posing some deeper questions. A great independent or class read for 7+ but would also be an excellent book to read to age 4+ (although possibly a little too scary for some).

$19.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
4
On Order:
2

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781444949360
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Hodder Children's Books
  • : August 2018
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Shane Hegarty
  • : Paperback
  • : 1905
  • : Ben Mantle
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 240