Product detail

Charlie Bone and the Red Knight (Children of the Red King #8)

Charlie Bone and the Red Knight (Children of the Red King #8)

Author: Jenny Nimmo
Series: Children of the Red King
$19.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and Shane Hegarty's Darkmouth. An Academy for magic and special talents. A destiny unfulfilled. A secret legacy. The Bloors are gathering their evil forces - thieves, poisoners, kidnappers, swindlers and even murderers from Piminy Street. And Lord Grimwald, Dagbert's father, is enlisted to drown Charlie's father and mother on their second honeymoon using his magical Sea Globe. It looks like Charlie's only hope might be the mysterious Red Knight. But who is he? And can he help Charlie defeat the Bloors once and for all? The eighth and final instalment of the international best-selling series from Jenny Nimmo starring Charlie Bone. With nearly 5 million copies sold, Jenny Nimmo's fantasy series is still charming generations of children over a decade after Charlie Bone was first printed.

Reviews

This book is a gripping fantasy tale of mystery, suitable for children and adults. If you like Harry Potter you will love this. Harry, aged 8 Books for Keeps "A fast moving, dialogue-driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter". -- Reviewer The Bookseller

Author description

Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy. For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when she went to boarding school and reading was a wonderful escape, it allowed her to believe that she was somewhere else. She begn to write her own stories when she was ten. She cannot help using magic in her work because myths legends and fairy-tales were her favourite reading as a child, and they have remained at the back of her mind ever since. In 1986 her book 'The Snow Spider' won the Smarties Grand Prix and, in 1987, was awarded the Tir na n'Og by the Welsh Arts Council. 'The Rinaldi Ring' was chosen as Guardian Book of the Week, and was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal, for which she received a commendation.Five of Jenny's eight books about Charlie Bone in 'The Children of the Red King' series were on the New York Times bestseller list, and she has now completed 'The Secret Kingdom Trilogy' a prequel to the Charlie Bone Books.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781405280990
  • : Egmont UK Ltd
  • : Egmont Books Ltd
  • : July 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 21mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 823.914
  • : 336
  • : Jenny Nimmo