Night Birds on Nantucket

Author(s): Joan Aiken

Middle Fiction

Shipwrecked Dido Twite is picked up by a whaling ship - and then finds herself sinking deeper and deeper into trouble-'A zany, original historical fantasy involving a plot to blow up James III with a long-range gun' Sunday Telegraph.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

This is the third novel in the classic Willoughby Chase series - now consisting of ten titles - and was originally published in l966. Now being reissued with a stunning new cover.

Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times, said, 'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.

General Fields

  • : 9780099456643
  • : Random House Children's Publishers UK
  • : Red Fox
  • : February 2004
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 14mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.914
  • : From 9 To 11
  • : 208
  • : Joan Aiken
  • : Paperback