Product detail

The Poet X

The Poet X

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
$23.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

PUBLICATION APRIL 2018

Description

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.


Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.


But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.


With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.


Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.


"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation


"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost


"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Author description

ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781405291460
  • : Egmont Books, Limited
  • : Egmont Books, Limited
  • : May 2018
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Elizabeth Acevedo
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 813.6
  • : 320