Symptoms of Being Human

Author(s): Jeff Garvin

Young Adult Fiction | LGBTQI+

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.


On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.


From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

General Fields

  • : 9780062382870
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : Balzer & Bray
  • : 0.263084
  • : November 2017
  • : .793 Inches X 5.312 Inches X 8 Inches
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jeff Garvin
  • : Paperback
  • : [Fic]
  • : 352